773-522-7000 Hablamos Español

DUI CONVICTIONS

If you’re in trouble or you've been arrested, you're entitled to legal representation.

 

 

 

Drunk driving penalties in Illinois are some of the most severe in the nation. According to Illinois law, just refusing a breathalyzer test will get you an automatic 1-year license suspension, and can sometimes incur additional fines. Even a first time offender can receive at least a 6-month license suspension, and a criminal prosecution is sure to follow. Since Illinois is so hard on potential DUI offenders, it’s important that you know your rights and who to turn to in order to get the best possible outcome.

Have you been charged with a DUI?

A DUI—or driving under the influence—can be serious and lead to jail time. But an Illinois prosecutor must prove intoxication beyond a reasonable doubt to convict you. If the police failed to properly conduct your sobriety test, or botched their chemical urine, blood, or breathalyzer tests, you likely have a window to escape conviction.

“Intoxicated” means a blood-alcohol level of .08% or greater. But different tests have different levels of accuracy, and the way the police handled your case can determine whether or not you are convicted. Be sure to get the details of the investigation and contact a lawyer to discuss your options.

Even if you failed a sobriety or breathalyzer test, you can still win your case. Pleading guilty might seem like the easy way out, but fees can be costly and you might go to jail. Instead, fight the charge with the help of an experienced DUI lawyer.

Know your rights when being charged with a DUI

You have the right to an attorney when charged with a DUI. Find an experienced attorney to help you review the details of the case against you. With legal help, you stand a much better chance of beating the charge without fines or jail time.

As we mentioned, Illinois has an implied consent law, which means that as a motorist with a driver’s license, you give your consent to sobriety and chemical tests to determine impairment. So, legally you can still refuse a chemical test, like a breathalyzer or blood test, but if you say no, you’ll be subject to a fine and an automatic 1-year license suspension. For that reason, it’s better to take the test and then deal with the case with an experienced lawyer at your side.

Finding the right attorney for your DUI Arrest

An expert DUI defense requires preparation, experience, and aggressive representation. You need a lawyer who listens to you and takes the time to understand your specific case. Jack Epstein will examine all of the evidence in your case, giving you the best chance to avoid jail time and a drunk driving conviction, and still keep your driver’s license.

For over 22 years, Jack Epstein has handled DUI cases in Illinois and has helped clients in Cook, DuPage, McHenry, Will, Kane, and other Northern and Central Illinois counties. Jack Epstein’s knowledge of Illinois DUIs, traffic laws, and Illinois driver’s license suspensions and revocations can help you resolve your case successfully.

If you’ve been charged with a DUI, call The Epstein Law Firm at 773-522-7000 or contact Jack Epstein today. As always, your case evaluation is free.

The Epstein Law Firm has won over

$25,000,000

for its clients. Let us help you!

CRIMINAL LAW

DRUG ACCUSATIONS

ARE YOU IN TROUBLE? HAVE YOU BEEN ARRESTED?

FIND OUT WHAT YOUR LEGAL OPTIONS ARE BY CONTACTING EPSTEIN LAW